Chapter History

Delta Upsilon History

On March 19, 1983, seventeen educators were inducted into the newly formed San Diego Chapter of Delta Upsilon of the National sorority of Phi Delta Kappa, Inc.  This idealistic, hard working group of educators   became the charter members of one of the youngest chapter in the Far Western Region.  Since its creation, the Delta Upsilon Chapter San Diego has made tremendous strides.

In 1985, Delta Upsilon chapter began its Outstanding Educators event.  The first ever was held in Balboa Park at Café Del Ray Moro’s ballroom.  The focus was on honoring the first contract teachers in San Diego, Ms. Lorraine Gholston and Henry Payne were honored for breaking through the glass and metal ceilings.  Over the year, the event has gone from a dinner, to a lunch and now a breakfast.  However, despite those changes, the primary focus has remained: honoring those who make a significant contribution to the academic and personal success of our students.  In addition to honoring teachers in the profession, the organization now honors one community person who has supported students.

Charter Members:

Elaine Johnson    Marilyn Moss    Vernice Gray        Elsie Quarles

Rebecca Phillips    Clara Doss        Marie Mullins    Catherine Pope

Diana Shipley    Julia Freeman    Gloria Smith        Dr. Shirley Weber

Jacqueline Griffin    Evelyn Lane       Mildred Mobley    Dr. Ela Sloan

Vivian Brown     Dr. Cora Dunbar